I accidentally deleted my Tumblr account

June 18, 2015 Lifestyle
sad girl

I don’t even know where to start with this post. I just can’t believe what I just did. I can’t even describe this feeling I’m feeling right now because it feels pretty fucking bad.

I’ve been keeping that Tumblr account since high school, and to have it all just disappear because of one stupid, but honest mistake? I feel like such a fool right now!

I started my Tumblr account over 7 years ago and there was 8 other secondary Tumblr blogs to go with it. That is, 4000+ personal anecdotes and photos from my teenage + university years.

Gone at the click of a button.

Before you go and call me a drama queen and point out that most content management systems have a deletion confirmation screen, I didn’t get a proper one!

Now I don’t want to blame Tumblr or whoever was fucking around with the back end of Tumblr that removed all the HTML/CSS styles of the confirmation screen I got because I know that I have nobody else to blame but myself.

What I got on the confirmation screen was clustered text in the upper left hand corner of my browser with two form fields where the placeholder text indicated for me to enter my email address and password.

I was consolidating my secondary Tumblr blogs all day because I wanted to clean up my account. So after I moved my posts from the secondary one to the blog that I wanted to keep, I’d delete the secondary blog – I was slowly getting into a routine. Move posts, delete secondary blog.

tumblr deletion confirmation screenAnd then I accidentally clicked delete on my entire Tumblr account and was prompted with the messed up  confirmation page. Thinking that I was just deleting a secondary blog, I didn’t think much of it. I didn’t even bother to read the text because typing in my Tumblr details was routine. So I clicked the illegible confirm button and it didn’t redirect me back to my dashboard. Instead I was faced with “It’s gone” and a “Sign up again” button.

Oh well.

I’ve contacted Tumblr but after looking around on the internet, it seems that once you delete your shit, you never get it back. The chances of getting your content back, is next to nothing.

So now I’m just going to have to take it in my stride, and as one of my besties said… it’s time to make new memories.

I’m just a bit bummed about losing 7 years worth of anecdotes of my raw emotions.

Much love,

blog signature

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply